Stages of anesthesia depth

Outline for depths of anesthesia.

Stage I
voluntary movement lasts until loss of consciousness
Stage II
involuntary movement
loss of consiousness
onset of regular patterned breathing
Stage III surgical anesthesia
progressive depression of cardiopulmonary functions
depression of reflexes
4 planes. 1 light, 2,3 medium, 4 deep anesthesia
Stage IV
extreme CNS depression
death occurs quickly at this stage